• TGN's Newsletter
  • Posts
  • Trans Red, White & Royal Blue star Aneesh Sheth says film ‘changed her life’ -TGN

Trans Red, White & Royal Blue star Aneesh Sheth says film ‘changed her life’ -TGN

Red, white and royal blue star Aneesh Sheth is sure to gain more fans when the highly anticipated LGBTQ+ romantic comedy is released in August – but the trans actor already believes the film has “changed (her) life”.

With Taylor Zakhar Perez and Nicholas Galitzine, Red White & Royal Blue is based on Casey McQuiston’s 2019 best-selling novel about the transatlantic rendezvous and the drama that ensues when the US President’s son, Alex Claremont-Diaz, (Perez) falls in love with his British rival, Prince Henry (Galitzine).

The Matthew Lopez-directed film adaptation arrives August 11 on Prime Video and features some impeccable A-list names in the form of Uma Thurman and Stephen Fry, who play the President of the United States and the King of England, respectively.

However, it’s the casting of Aneesh Sheth as Alex’s assigned secret service agent Amy that proves it Red, white and royal blue resolutely waves the flag for LGBTQ+ talent as the actor continues to blaze a trail for trans artists in Hollywood.

Aneesh Sheth is cracking Hollywood as an out-trans actor

Aneesh Sheth, 41, was born in Pune, India and moved with her family to New York City in the US as a young child in the 1980s.

Her interest in acting began as a child, but her first major on-screen roles came after her transition in 2008.

Speak against The heroines blog in 2014, Sheth recalled how hearing from a young trans woman while training to become a counselor for LGBTQ+ charity The Trevor Project inspired her to embark on her own transition.

“The hardest thing about coming out was telling my family,” Sheth noted during the interview. “When I look back, of course I think to myself, ‘Why were you so worried?’

“At the time, I felt like my whole life was going to change in a way that I wasn’t mentally prepared for, as much as I wanted it to. I was terrified of the emotional and physical changes that were to come.

“In the long run, though, it wasn’t nearly as scary as I thought. I can thank a great support group of friends and family for that.

Sheth landed her first on-screen role in 2011, appearing in two episodes of NBC sitcom outsourced. Since then, she has appeared in several TV shows, including American medical drama New Amsterdam and hit FX horror series The living Dead.

Sheth’s big break came in 2019, when she was cast in the recurring role of Gillian on season three of the Marvel TV series. Jessica Jonesstarring Krysten Ritter.

“I am transgender and Gillian’s character is also trans. But there is no mention of her being trans on the show nor any story about her identity,” Sheth shared iNews at the time. “Which I think is wonderful, because there are trans people in the world and it’s not always about their (trans) story.”

Sheth has previously advocated casting trans people in trans roles to provide better opportunities for trans actors in the industry.

“While I agree that it’s an actor’s job to be able to portray different types of people, it’s just as important for trans actors to have the opportunity to be cast,” she told The Heroines.

“We have a long way to go in terms of portrayal of transgender people on screen and I think more fleshed out, fully realized transgender characters would be better served by casting trans actors.

“I really hope we get to a point in time where any actor can portray a trans person, in an honest, fully realized way. Until then, filmmakers need to have a little more guts and not be afraid to deviate from the stereotypical portrayals we’ve seen in movies so far.”

Sheth plays secret agent Amy in Red, White & Royal Blue

Aneesh Sheth landed another high-profile role in 2022 after being cast in it Red, white and royal blue as a Secret Service agent and Alex’s devoted bodyguard, Amy.

In the original novel by Casey McQuiston, Amy is described as a trans woman and former Navy SEAL, the juxtaposition of her no-nonsense attitude and rumored death count with her love of embroidery providing a constant source of comedy.

Like with Jessica Jonesthere is no reference to whether Sheth’s character is trans in the 2023 film adaptation of Red, white and royal blue — a rare and much-needed example of a trans actor being cast in a role that doesn’t revolve around their gender identity.

Perhaps it’s no coincidence that Sheth was full of praise for the production on social media, sharing a photo of Taylor Zakhar Perez and Nicholas Galitzine during filming with the caption, “I love my job. I love what we make for you.”

Once filming Red, white and royal blue had wrapped in London in August 2022, Sheth reflected on the personal impact of being a part of the film, which has sent fans of the book into a frenzy weeks before its release.

Sheth shared an image of a Polaroid photo of herself with Perez and Galitzine on Instagram, writing, “And that’s a wrap on Red, White & Royal Blue!!!! How do I even begin to describe the past three months? Being a part of this movie has changed my life – in so many ways I never thought possible.

“I will miss everyone on this team; we had the best time making this movie. This group, this movie, this city – it all has my heart.”

She added: “And to my boys, Taylor and Nick, you are my angels and I love you with every cell in my heart and soul.”

Red, white and royal blue arrives on Prime Video on August 11.