• TGN's Newsletter
  • Posts
  • Ishan Kishan revealed how Rishabh Pant helped him score his Maiden Fifty -TGN

Ishan Kishan revealed how Rishabh Pant helped him score his Maiden Fifty -TGN

The young and talented Ishan Kishan of India got a golden chance to Ishan Kishan in India’s final Test innings during the West Indies tour. While India’s decision to send Ishan ahead of an experienced No. 4 Virat Kohli was nothing short of a risk, he repaid the team’s confidence with a whirlwind en route to a first half-century. He played an unbeaten knockout of 52 from 34 which helped team India reach a target of 365 runs against the home side.

Later, after the match, Ishan Kishan revealed how talking with Rishabh Pant helped him improve that score.

For the inexperienced, it would have been Pat as the goalkeeper-bats for team India in the ongoing Test series, ideally, as it would have been in the WTC final last month and also for the Border-Gavaskar series at home earlier this year. However, the star goalkeeper batter is currently on the road to recovery after narrowly surviving a tragic car crash. While he recovers, the Indian side made significant progress.

Speaking of Ishan’s knock, he was sent off ahead of Virat Kohli and the youngster broke four boundaries and two sixes in his unbeaten 52 to help India score 181 for two on Day 4.

After the day’s work, Ishan revealed how Pant’s advice while interacting with the NCA helped him prepare for the series. He revealed:

I was at NCA before I came here. I practiced there and Rishabh was also there for his rehabilitation. He just got a few points for me. He asked me to know you, the bat position and everything because he had seen me play with him. We’ve played so many games together. We’ve been together since U-19. So he knows how I play, what my mentality is. So you just help me out a little bit with my bat position and stuff so otherwise I think I also wanted someone to tell me a few things about my batter and it was a great time for him to come and chat with me and very grateful for that,”

It should be noted that Ishan Kishan was seen playing with the bat that had RP17 written on it. RP17 means Rishabh Pant and 17 is his shirt number.

Check out the viral photo:

Image