• TGN's Newsletter
  • Posts
  • Lorraine Kelly responds after repeatedly misrepresenting Sam Smith on-air -TGN

Lorraine Kelly responds after repeatedly misrepresenting Sam Smith on-air -TGN

Lorraine Kelly (L) responds to missing non-binary singer Sam Smith (R). (Getty)

ITV presenter Lorraine Kelly has responded to backlash after repeatedly misrepresenting non-binary singer Sam Smith live on air on Thursday morning (July 13).

Grammy award-winning singer Sam Smith came out in March 2019 as non-binary – with she/she pronouns. Over the past four years, the “Unholy” hitmaker has spoken out about their gender identity journey as they battled attacks from right-wing bigots and constant misinterpretations from high-profile figures including Bob Geldof, Richard Madeley, Noel Gallagher – and various radio and TV hosts.

Now Lorraine Kelly has joined this song after misrepresenting Smith while discussing the singer’s outfit for the European Barbie premiered on her chat show.

The premiere, which took place on Wednesday (July 12) in London’s Leicester Square, was a veritable fashion extravaganza with the pink carpet awash in countless fabulous outfits.

While many of the stars in attendance opted for an all-pink ensemble — or an outfit inspired by one of the many Barbie dolls of recent years — Smith made a bold statement with their looks.

The 31-year-old singer, who has form when it comes to hitting back against fat-phobic trolls by unapologetically celebrating their bodies, showed up in an oversized sweatshirt with the words “16 XL” embroidered on it paired with floor-length baggy jeans.

Sam Smith attends the European premiere of Barbie. (Mike Marsland/WireImage)

Kelly reviewed Smith’s outfit and told model and TV personality Vogue Williams: “It’s a little big on him. If he were my son, I’d say, ‘Son, that’s too big for you’… He’s going to stand out. He knows what he’s doing, that guy does.”

Although a visibly uncomfortable Williams spoke of Smith using the correct pronouns, they made no attempt to correct Lorraine.

Social media users shared their frustration at Kelly’s flippant misrepresentation.

“I guess Lorraine didn’t get the memo about Sam Smith and their chosen pronouns, awkward,” one wrote.

“It’s them/them to Sam Smith – Vogue knows it. Lorraine, on the other hand, didn’t care!” posted another.

In a since-deleted tweet responding to a critic on Twitter, Kelly stressed that her wording was unintentional.

“Reasonable comment Ollie,” she wrote. “Not the least bit intentional, but will take it on board – thanks for bringing it to my attention.”

Smith has previously shared their forgiving approach to mis-gender, saying in a 2020 interview with Zane Lowe that “everyone messes up.”

In a separate interview with the Australian talk show The project that year, Smith also shared that even their mother has been misrepresenting them since they came out.

“I tell my mom all the time — she’ll call me ‘he and him’ and she’ll get mad at herself and that’s okay,” they said. ‘But it’s important, you know?

“All I can say is that when people use my pronouns correctly, it’s a wonderful feeling. I feel safe, I feel happy and I feel completely seen.

“I stumble too! Of course I do, I’m human. I’ve been called ‘he and he’ since the day I was born, you know, 27 years of my life, so I can understand,” they explained.