MrBeast YouTube star Kris Tyson comes out as trans -TGN

MrBeast’s friend and longtime collaborator Kris Tyson has come out as a trans woman. (YouTube/Anthony Padilla)

MrBeast’s friend and longtime YouTube co-worker Kris Tyson has revealed a new name and pronouns as she officially comes out as a trans woman.

In an uplifting and comprehensive interview with YouTuber Anthony Padilla on Friday (July 21), Tyson opened up about when she first realized her gender was different from what was expected of her, and the trans joy inherent in living as her authentic self.

Tyson, who regularly starred alongside influential YouTuber and philanthropist MrBeast — real name Jimmy Donaldson — in his viral videos, first spoke openly about her journey to discover her authentic self and access hormone replacement therapy (HRT) in April. She received a wave of support and love from fans, who praised Tyson for being a mainstream influencer that queer kids can look up to.

Unsurprisingly, though, some trolls couldn’t handle Tyson simply being himself and in charge MrBeastthe most subscribed individual user on YouTube, to flip back to bigoted comments about his friend.

Now, Tyson has introduced her new name and pronouns, sharing that she’s been “confident” in her identity for over a year now, but wants to “catch up with the internet” in the way she discovers herself.

“Six, seven, eight months ago my hair started growing out, all that stuff. I didn’t know exactly who I was yet, but I did know I wasn’t cisgender,” said the YouTuber. “I needed the freedom to express myself and figure out who I was.”

In her interview with Padilla, Tyson also explored anxiety about how people would react to her coming out as a woman, and that being from a “small town in a conservative area” had an impact on how her journey progressed.

Tyson shared that she now feels free to be her authentic self without the weight of others’ expectations — and this means she can express her thoughts and emotions openly.

“I literally had people within the first few months of coming out to friends and my therapist…they felt like you talk so much more, and you just seem to be so much more present in the conversation.

“I noticed that myself,” continued Tyson. “I’d be done with conversations saying ‘why does my jaw hurt so much?’ Oh, I was talking and smiling – I haven’t done that in a while.”

Fans were quick to share their support for Tyson and even created beautiful digital artwork based on her interview with Padilla.

Social media users thanked Tyson for sharing her journey, with one fan posting that it would “inspiring and helping so many people”.

Another wrote: “I am so proud of @kristyson… seeing her so happy to be openly trans makes me cry. I kind of recognize myself in some of the things she mentioned about internalized transphobia and being afraid to come out. the interview hit so close to home.

Will Kris Tyson be in more MrBeast videos?

It’s not yet known if Kris Tyson will star in any upcoming MrBeast content, but in the Padilla interview, she’s clear about her love of making videos with the YouTube superstar.

In April, Tyson put a stop to rumors that she had been removed from the MrBeast team, letting fans know in a Snapchat stream that she was still part of the MrBeast team, but wanted to spend more time with her son, Tucker.

Since MrBeast has previously backed up his friend’s identity, it’s likely that further collaborations are at stake.