• TGN's Newsletter
  • Posts
  • R Ashwin and Bhuvneshwar Kumar retire after IND vs IRE Squad announcement -TGN

R Ashwin and Bhuvneshwar Kumar retire after IND vs IRE Squad announcement -TGN

R Ashwin and Bhuvneshwar Kumar retire after IND vs IRE Squad announcement: The Indian cricket team will tour Ireland for the upcoming T20I series following the completion of the ongoing India vs West Indies series. The IND vs IRE T20I series will observe three T20I encounters, which will take place in August 2023.

The Indian cricket team will take on Ireland in a three match T20I series at The Village Stadium in Dublin on 18, 20 and 23 August. The BCCI has yet to announce the squad for the upcoming tour.

While many young talents are expected to be included in the T20I squad for the tour of Ireland, on the other hand there are a few names that have long since taken the opportunity in the T20I. These players might consider retiring from T20Is after the India vs Ireland T20I series.

R Ashwin and Bhuvneshwar Kumar will soon announce their retirement

India senior player R Ashwin is one of the players to announce his retirement after the India vs Ireland series. Ashwin last played in the shortest format at the 2023 ICC T20 World Cup, picking 6 wickets. However, his selection became a subject of debate after India lost the semi-final to England by 10 wickets.

Later, Ashwin was rejected for the T20I format. After the debacle of the 2022 T20 World Cup, it is highly unlikely that Ashwin will return to the T20Is.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar is another player who may announce his retirement after the India vs Ireland series. Bhuvi was a regular member of the Indian squad until November 2022. He last played in the T20I series against New Zealand. However, since the beginning of 2023, he was no longer eligible for the T20I squad.

Bhuvneswar Kumar

Notably, Bhuvneshwar Kumar has not played a single T20I game this year. He was also not part of the BCCI’s contract this year. Even in the T20I series against the West Indies, Kumar was not eligible

Young players want Arshdeep SinghUmran Malik, and Mohammed Siraj Tasting immense success in the shortest format of the game, Bhuvneshwar Kumar is unlikely to get a chance to make a comeback in the T20Is.