• TGN's Newsletter
  • Posts
  • Tilak Varma Dedicated His Maiden Half-Century To Rohit Sharma’s Daughter-TGN

Tilak Varma Dedicated His Maiden Half-Century To Rohit Sharma’s Daughter-TGN

Left-handed batsman, Tilak Varma stole the show with his powerful batting as he registered his maiden half-century against West Indies in the second T20I match of the five-match series at Providence Stadium, Guyana. Tilak Varma played an impressive knock of 51 runs off 41 balls, smashing 5 fours and 1 six. Varma, 20, has top-scored in both consecutive innings for his team as he had scored 39 off just 22 on his debut.

Tilak Varma Dedicated His Maiden Half-Century To Rohit Sharma’s Daughter

Tilak Varma walked out to bat at number 4 with all-guns-blazing as he smashed the Windies bowlers to all the corners of the ground. Though, he started slow, however, soon he switched gears and attacked the talented Windies bowlers. After scoring his maiden half-century, Tilak Varma was seen celebrating the feat with a cute dance.

Watch Varma’s cute celebration:

𝐖𝐚𝐭𝐜𝐡𝐢𝐧𝐠 𝐨𝐧 🔁 😍

Tilak’s solid Maiden International FIFTY 👏#OneFamily #WIvIND @TilakV9 pic.twitter.com/D1qBZhJJyl

— Mumbai Indians (@mipaltan) August 6, 2023

Later, after the match, Tilak Varma revealed that the special celebration was dedicated to Rohit Sharma’s daughter – Samaira Sharma. He revealed that he shares a special bond with the kid and he had promised that he will do a celebration for her. He said:

“It was towards Sammy, Rohit bhai’s daughter. I am very close to Sammy. I had promised her that whenever I will score a century or a fifty, I will do a celebration for her,”

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) via their official social media account shared the video of Tilak Varma speaking to the reporters. Sharing the video, BCCI wrote:

“A special fifty A special celebration for someone special from the Rohit Sharma family.”

Watch the video:

A special fifty 👍

A special celebration for someone special from the Rohit Sharma family ☺️#TeamIndia | #WIvIND | @ImRo45 | @TilakV9 pic.twitter.com/G7knVbziNI

— BCCI (@BCCI) August 6, 2023

Tilak Varma also revealed his conversation with Hardik Pandya and Rahul Dravid. Speaking at a press conference, Varma said:

“I have been with Rahul sir since the Under-19 World Cup. He always says to follow your basics and spend as much time in the 22 yards between the wickets. He always says to enjoy your game as much as you can,”

He added: “When I was talking to Hardik bhai also, he says the same thing, that you’ve done well in IPL and domestic, so this is the same thing you should do in international cricket. Follow your basics and enjoy your game.”

Tilak Varma also talked about the turning points of his career and credited the Indian Premier League for his success. He said:

Everyone knows that the two IPL seasons were my turning point. I am here because of my performances there,” he acknowledged. “So I am just playing with that confidence and going forward I want to continue what I’ve been doing.”

“In my first IPL season, he (Rohit Sharma, the Mumbai Indians captain) told me that I am an all-format player and that was a huge boost for me. That gave me a lot of confidence. He told me from then that I have to be consistent and for that I need to be disciplined off the field. So I take his guidance and have been following the things he has told me to do.”