• TGN's Newsletter
  • Posts
  • Wasim Jaffer chooses his Indian squad for 2023 World Cup; Demands Veteran Batsman Recall -TGN

Wasim Jaffer chooses his Indian squad for 2023 World Cup; Demands Veteran Batsman Recall -TGN

Former India batsman Wasim Jaffer believes veteran opener Shikhar Dhawan should be recalled to the Indian squad for the upcoming 2023 World Cup to be played in India in October-November.

Shikhar Dhawan was one of the main hitters in the Indian ODI team from 2013 to 2022, but lost his place to young Shubman Gill last year. Dhawan has a vast experience of 167 ODI matches in which he accumulated over 6000 runs at an average of 44 with 17 centuries to his name.

But a dip in his form, plus the emergence of the likes of Shubman Gill and Ishan Kishan saw him dropped from the ODI side last year. Ishan Kishan is currently seen as the backup opener for Rohit Sharma and Gill. However, Shikhar Dhawan’s impressive record in tournaments like World Cup and Champions Trophy cannot be discounted.

During a discussion on JioCinema, Wasim Jaffer was asked to choose his Indian squad for the 2023 World Cup. The former opener opted to have Dhawan in his roster as a back-up opener.

“My three openers are Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill and Shikhar Dhawan. Even if Shikhar Dhawan is not chosen, I will keep him as backup opener. Even if he doesn’t play in the beginning, that’s fine with me. said Jaffer.

The middle batters – Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer and KL Rahul, who doubles as wicket-keeper in the absence of Rishabh Pant – and the two all-rounders – Ravindra Jadeja and Hardik Pandya – choose themselves without any struggle.

Wasim Jaffer also chose Axar Patel as the extra spin bowling all-rounder along with wrist spinner Kuldeep Yadav.

“Then, of course, Virat Kohli at No. 3. Shreyas Iyer at No. 4, KL Rahul at No. 5 and Hardik Pandya at No. 6. Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel and Kuldeep Yadav will be my three spinners in the XI.”

I will definitely try to play three spinners in my World Cup XI: Wasim Jaffer

As the World Cup is in India, Jaffer believes two pacers in the XI – Bumrah and Siraj/Shami – would be enough in the XI with Hardik Pandya as third sailor.

“In my XI I have Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Siraj/Mohammad Shami. I will play two sailors – Bumrah and Siraj. For me it is very important that Hardik Pandya bowls because the World Cup is in India. Even if he doesn’t bowl 10 overs and seven-eight overs, it’s enough for me.”

To complete the squad, Jaffer wants to bring in Shardul and Samson. Interestingly, Jaffer left out Chahal.

“When he bowls I will definitely try to play three spinners and I will definitely play both Axar and Jadeja because they are all-rounders. My third spinner will of course be Kuldeep. My fourth sailor will be Shardul Thakur. Sanju Samson will be my backup keeper as I have already chosen Shikhar as my third opener.

Wasim Jaffer’s Indian World Cup Squad: Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Mohammad Shami, Sanju Samson, Shardul Thakur